Skincare?

photo (3)

Ok so I’ll be the first to admit that i’m uber lazy when it comes to skincare. Pretty much if skincare could be all rolled up into one product, i’ll be the first to buy that product. However in a nonperfect world we live in, one step skincare routine just doesn’t exist. Before I go on, sorry about the  bit of absence this week and not posting my week 5 spotlight but frankly, I didn’t have a favorite last week, I just used old products that weren’t really spotlight worthy. And i’m super late posting this week’s spotlight but that will go up today also. 

So anyway, I been reading Caroline Hiron’s blog for the last week or so and if you don’t know who she is, I highly recommend you go check out her blog. She is a skincare goddess and I don’t know what I did before I started listening to her expert advice. So in an effort to get off my lazy bum and step it up on my skincare, I went and purchased two items to kick start my new routine. The first is the Liz Earle hot cloth cleanser from birchbox. A lot of YouTubers rave about this cleanser and I really wanted to try it out. The only problem is that in the US Liz Earle products are really hard to come by. Luckily, birchbox sells full size products from Liz (which sadly not all her products are sold). Currently it is free shipping and i’m not sure if it will stay like that but it is an exclusive item for birchbox. I am super stoked to use this tonight and i’ll keep you posted whether or not I love it. I got the starter kit which came with a cute travel pouch, 2 muslin cloths and the cleanser. It cost me $25 or you could just get the cleanser for $21 but you are suppose to use this cleanser with a muslin or a flannel and I didn’t have any so the starter kit seemed ideal.

Next I moved on to toner. I don’t know about you but I personally love the toner stage. I’ve used toners before and it’s always the step that makes me feel all grown up when it comes to skincare. I’ve always used the cliniqe toner that came with my acne wash kit and it’s fine and everything but the shedload of alcohol in it made my skin soooooo dry. I’ve heard that clarins does pretty good skincare so I went ahead and picked up the toning lotion for oily combination skin. It is alcohol free which I love and it is suppose to refresh the face and tighten my pores. Now let me rant for a sec about my pores. I think they’re absolutely HUGE. Hate them with a capital H. Every morning when I look at my face all I see are my big pores. I honestly thought I would never minimize them….’til this toner came about. As soon as I used it my pores really did tighten and I felt, normal. When I woke up the next morning, my pores were not huge at all! OMG I love this. However, I did wake up this morning with an extremely dry nose which I don’t know if its from the toner or not. I’ll try to keep you posted on that. This toner retails for $23 which is pretty affordable I think and it is sold anywhere there’s a clarins counter.

Anyway, i’m actually kinda excited to take care of my skin because of these purchases, hopefully it will make me less lazy about the whole skincare thing…

2 thoughts on “Skincare?

  1. Good luck! Try to keep in mind it only takes 1 min in the morning and 1 min at night to take care of your skin 🙂 If you get a chance, I’d love for you to check out my blog and let me know what you think! Best, Meg

  2. I used the Liz Earle a lot last year, but like you said it’s tough to get it in the US. I’ve moved on to other cleansers since, but enjoy it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

