From across the pond…

photo

If there is one thing that frustrates me about following beauty blogs bases in the UK is that, sometimes the products mentioned and raved about are not available in the US. To name a few, Bourjois is kinda hard to get your hands on (asos and feel unique carries them), max factor, collection, Charlotte Tilbury and etc. Even drugstore products are different in the UK than in the US. My recent trip to target last week had me think otherwise. Here are a few things that are available to us americans that have been available to Britons  for quite some time now.

Maybelline Brow Drama

So basically a dupe for the Anastasia tinted brow gel. The drugstores in the US doesn’t really do a lot of tinted brow gels other than Revlon brow fantasy (as far as I know) and it has gotten pretty good reviews and I’ve used it a couple of times and I gotta say its a pretty good one. The one thing is that I think this would be a good product for those of you who have pretty good brows already and just need a bit of polishing. If you are the one who needs to actually fill in your brows to get an even shape, I wouldn’t really recommend it. It doesn’t really shape your brows like a way a pencil would. However you can just use it on top of pencil to set your brows. The staying power is amazing on this, if you are looking for a natural brow look, this is the one for you.

Rimmel Moisture Renew Lipsticks in In love with Ginger

Now the US have had the moisture renew range for a long time now but the shade selection was different than the one in the UK. In my opinion I didn’t really fancy most of the colors. If you are a frequent reader of beauty blogs, you would know the ever famous shade In love with ginger. Rimmel just recently launched these new formulated lipsticks with the same shades as the UK ones plus changed the packaging which I appreciate more. In love with Ginger is a bright tomato red that looks like a dupe for Tom Ford Wild Ginger. A very creamy formula, comfortable to wear on the lips. Staying power isn’t as great as Tom Ford and its a bit more slippy than Tom Ford. However, it is a very good alternative if you don’t want to spend a ton of money.

Sally Hansen Insta Dry nail polish in Blue me away.

afterlight

This isn’t really something that we didn’t have but the UK has. If you read Liana beauty you know she is obsessed with the Maybelline 7 day nail polishes. Sadly we don’t have that here in the states and I can’t find any online places that sells them. I instantly fell in love with the blue shade  called uptown blue she has been sporting and I have been on the hunt for a shade dupe for the Maybelline nail polishes. Now I can only assume dupes based on pictures since I have nothing to compare it to. I have looked online and in store to see if I could find a dupe but it was hard trying to find a bright sky blue without it being too green or too baby blue. Then I laid my eyes on the Sally Hansen nail polish. First of all, i’m not a huge fan of the formula, a little to gloopy and think for my liking but the brush is nice and thick which is nice. you have to be patient with this polish because if you do it wrong it could be streaky. So even though the formula isn’t something I am thrilled about, I do love the color and I think it is a good dupe for the Maybelline one.

Leave a Reply

